Help a newbie get started with Bitcoin?

You must be logged in to create new topics.

Help a newbie get started with Bitcoin?

• Harry Halbert

Hi, I’m a newbie who wants to take the plunge and get started with Bitcoin.

I’ve been searching online for info on how to get started, but I’m finding all the info quite overwhelming and difficult to digest – so I thought I’d ask for help here.

1. Is there a step-by-step tutorial for beginners that is up-to-date? (I found some tutorials but they’re outdated, links don’t work anymore, etc)

2. If there’s no tutorial, then I’ll just take this step-by-step. I understand the first step is to setup a Bitcoin wallet. Which wallet would you recommend that is simple enough for a beginner to use, while also being secure?

Thanks for your help.

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

• David Montgomery

I’m just learning too but picked up some things from this guide:

Homepage

Bitcoin isn’t for-the-masses easy yet, but one site that seems to be working hard to make it that way is bitreserve.org.

• You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Mike Reid

Hey, @liberals,

We have the Bitcoin Brothers, Sam+ Steve Patterson, coming on Liberty.me LIVE next week to answer questions like yours and maybe even do a walkthrough. (Sam wrote the guide David pointed to, and Steve has a new Bitcoin book coming out.)

I’ll be the host.

I’m a bitcoin newb too, and you can learn right along with me.

I’ll post a link to the event page here as soon as our date is official and we get the page up.

Harry Halbert

Thanks David and Mike! Looking forward to it.

Mike Schmidt

Hey Harry, welcome to bitcoin. I just sent you a few bits to your btc address from your profile:
    1HGXBtSxjT5beqquV7g3L8YDrrheZqCW4Y

If you are looking to spend, I always thought https://whollyhemp.com/ was a great small business that accepts bitcoin natively within their site. (I am not affiliated 🙂