Cost of Capital

You must be logged in to create new topics.

Cost of Capital

• Matt Anderson

I’m starting this thread in order to gain a better understanding of the techniques used in determining the weighted average cost of capital for pre revenue, research and development, and exploration stage companies. Granted I’m a new student to corporate finance so I’ll be making a lot of assumptions.
    So these types of companies all seem to have a few things in common and that is they usually don’t have any tangible capital assets in place. Therefore I would assume, because they don’t have any collateral, they would be less likely to receive debt financing from lenders. If this is the case, their only method of raising capital would be to finance strictly through equity, until they develop or acquire a tangible asset. So I’m assuming the correct way to come up with a cost of capital for research and development firms is to look strictly at the cost of equity capital. So how do we go about doing this?
    One popular standard risk and return model analysts seem to favor to determine the equity cost of capital is the capital asset pricing model. However I think this model may fall short in determining the correct cost of capital for these types of firms. Maybe I could give some reasoning for why I think this is but I’d be interested to know if so far I’m on the right track with my assumptions.

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

• Jeff Oxman

Matt,

This is a good start for a firm that has earnings, no me gusta for pre-revenue firms. For them, they need high-risk equity financing. In such a case, you have to use the required return of the owner. For a firm like this, that’d be upwards of 20% minimum. Maybe closer to 50%.

• You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Rick Rule

Jeff is correct.