Where does Thoreau fit in our tradition?

You must be logged in to create new topics.

Where does Thoreau fit in our tradition?

• B.K. Marcus

In Gary North’s latest, he calls Henry David Thoreau the American Friedrich Engels:

http://www.garynorth.com/public/12347.cfm

I hated Walden when I was a high school student, but I came to love Thoreau years later for his Civil Disobedience. I know he doesn’t fit neatly into our tradition, but it does seem to me that he belongs there.

Yes, Walden is embraced by the anti-capitalists, but I don’t quite trust North on how much Thoreau himself deserves the blame for it.

On the other hand, I’m not much inclined at the moment to go back and reread Walden to find out. Easier to ask those with more recent experience of the text.

So, bookworms of liberty, what say you?

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

• Redmond Weissenberger

Never read it, never will.

I don’t know if he was engels, maybe more of a Naomi Klein…

http://www.cato.org/publications/briefing-paper/klein-doctrine-rise-disaster-polemics

• You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Audra Flammang

Wendy McElroy has a great discussion of Civil Disobedience and the life of Thoreau in her book, The Art of Being Free. <- Highly recommend this book (Wendy is a prolific writer and also has a publishing site here at L.me). I haven’t read Walden since high school, either. But as I recall, he was quite reclusive and just wanted to avoid trappings in life, more than being anti-capitalist.

B.K. Marcus

Thank you so much, Audra, for reminding me of Wendy‘s chapter.

I’ve posted it to OurTradition.Liberty.me for quick reference, but I encourage everyone to download the full book from the Liberty.me Library: The Art of Being Free: Politics Versus the Everyman and Woman